Two tax agreements between the Isle of Man and the Republic of Slovenia have come into force, covering both tax information exchange (TIEA) and a double taxation agreement (DTA).
The Isle of Man has now signed 30 agreements which meet OECD standards, comprising five double taxation agreements and 25 tax information exchange agreements.

The agreements with Slovenia were signed in Douglas on 27 June 2011 by Iztok Jarc, the Slovenian ambassador, and by the then Manx treasury minister, Anne Craine.

The Isle of Man ratified the agreements at the December 2011 sitting of its parliament the Tynwald and the Slovenian foreign affairs ministry has now confirmed that Slovenia has also completed its ratification procedures.

Guernsey last week signed TIEAs with Italy and Latvia to bring the total number of countries where it formerly transfers such bilateral information to 37.

Jersey also signed a new TIEA, with Austria, bringing the total to 33 countries where it has tax agreements, of which 15 are with EU member states.